“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, & narrow-mindedness.” – Mark Twain

So, I never wrote about the end of my trip. I had wanted to keep blogging throughout the entirety of my time in New Zealand, but I failed. I kept telling myself to finish it, just for my own sake, for something to look back on, but it never happened. In the back of my mind, I think I didn’t really want to admit myself that it was over, even if I was home.

But today – one year since I arrived in New Zealand, Waitangi Day, and the day my visa officially expires – I suppose it’s time to finally put pen to paper (or fingers to keyboard) and finish my blog about my time in Aotearoa.

After my big hike on Mount Doom, I did a couple road trips – one with my parents. It was so special to be able to share my favorite country with them. But the one thing I really want to focus on today is my last weekend in Russell.

Right across the bay from my quaint little town was the Waitangi Treaty Grounds. I had lived so close the whole time I was there, but I kept putting it off, telling myself I would go later. Eventually it was my last weekend in Russell, and I knew I couldn’t leave without visiting such an important place in New Zealand history. This is where the Treaty of Waitangi – what is seen as the founding document of New Zealand – was signed on February 6, 1840 in the spot where this flagstaff now stands…

It was an “agreement” between the Maori chiefs and the British, but translations for both sides never really matched up, and there was a lot of uncertainty as to what was actually agreed to. The British believed that the treaty meant they had complete sovereignty over the land, but the Maori chiefs believed they were only giving permission for the British to use some of their land. This led to much conflict as the British took more and more land, but New Zealand was now an official British colony.

I took a tour of the grounds and also got to experience one of the best Maori culture shows I’ve ever seen (and attempted to become part of their tribe).

Now, one year later, I celebrate Waitangi Day from my home in Cincinnati. I say this a lot, but one of my favorite things about New Zealand was how proud they are of their roots and how engrained the Maori culture is in everyday life. I miss that. I miss the culture. I miss Aotearoa – every single day. Even though the treaty caused a lot of conflict, it brought New Zealand to where it is today and I love it just the way it is.

I knew I loved New Zealand from the moment our plane touched down when I visited with Sam in 2014. So when I landed in the Land of the Long White Cloud for the second time a year ago today, I posted a photo with the caption, “Aotearoa, e toku aroha,” – “New Zealand, you have my heart/my love.” I thought I knew what New Zealand was about; I thought I was in love already. But that was nothing compared to what I feel for that country now. That probably sounds crazy – to be madly in love with a country. But New Zealand got a hold on my heart like nothing ever has. I learned so much about myself and about life in those 5 months.

I will go back someday, maybe even live there again – who knows what life will bring. But for now, I’ll get my Tim Tams imported by Jungle Jim’s, stream my rugby online, and only dream of a PB&J burger from Burger Fuel.

Happy Waitangi Day, Kiwis. Happy One Year Anniversary.

Leave a comment